Daily Prompt: Can’t Stand Me

First of all, what an empathetic title. I’m not sure I approve, really. It sounds a bit too emo-kid for me. However, it does take me right back to Stand By Me.

But I am responding to the Daily Prompt  who asked:

What do you find more unbearable: watching a video of yourself, or listening to a recording of your voice? Why?

I used to find listening to recordings of my own voice quite difficult. My personal idiolect and inflections used to jar so much in my ears. I wanted my voice to be softer, more elegant… perhaps more lyrical.

As I’ve grown older, this is no longer something I worry about. I am more comfortable in my own skin and have grown less sensitive to how others might think of me. A small amount of awareness of your own impact on the lives of strangers is good, but as they say: those who mind, don’t matter and those who matter, don’t mind. I like to think that the people who really appreciate the nuances of my voice are the ones who get to hear it often, whether it is lyrical or not. Hopefully they will Stand By Me. Heh? Heeh? Hah.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

